Islamic dua (prayer) for infertility & conceiving

This post is written for Muslim women seeking duas for infertility – feel free to skip if it’s not your cup of tea or irrelevant to your journey.

The Pregnancy Guide for Muslim Women

‘The Pregnancy Guide for Muslim Women’ by Ummu Muawiya was sent to me by someone who meant well but she sent it at the worst time for me (just after she had a child). However sweet her intention, it still felt like salt in a wound. For this reason for a long time I couldn’t face opening this book. However, after a year I opened it and discovered that there are two prayers for Muslim women trying to conceive. If this can help one of you out there, then it is worth it sharing.

The first prayer is using saffron and a taweez – I don’t know if using a taweez is halal, so I’ve decided to exclude it. The next prayer is..

Overcoming Infertility

البارِئُ, المُصَوِّر

Al-baari-ul-musowiru

“The Shaper & The Inventor”

The book recommends fasting for seven days and reciting the above names of Allah 21 times when you break your fast. (pg 164)

The author also recommends writing Ul-Musowiru on a piece of paper and keeping it with you (personally.. sounds similar to the taweez approach and again I’m not sure how halal that is).

Conceiving a child

Iqrasense

O my Lord! Leave me not single (childless), though You are the Best of the inheritors.”

Rabbi-laa-tehzhirni far-dow weh-anteh khairul-waaritheen

This is my favourite and the one most recommended across the net (from what I can see when Googling). Read after making salah. It’s from the Quran (Surah 21 (Al Ambiya) : Verses:89-90)

This is a really good and helpful link to read that tells you the story behind the dua 

I also want to share this brilliant blog and read by Maryam Lane – please take time to read it:

The definition of a Mother: dealing with Infertility, the Islamic perspective
I pray that InshaAllah this helps you.

I opened Pandora's box and infertility entered my life.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Religion + Spiritual
6 comments on “Islamic dua (prayer) for infertility & conceiving
  1. Β. 'Ατακτη says:

    A prayer is a dialogue with God, regardless religion. I enjoyed the translation provided. xxx

  2. elaaisa says:

    I’m not religious but I am interested in it. Thanks for this post. I really enjoyed reading it.

  3. knalani says:

    Thanks for sharing! I’m Catholic and have prayed to St. Gerard a couple times (still waiting for his response! ;) ). I’ve been meaning to pray a novena, but it’s hard to remember to do it for nine days straight. I can’t imagine fasting for 7 days. Good for you!

  4. skfarouk says:

    glad you put this one down in the original arabic

Share those thoughts bouncing around in your head..

Oh, what a power is motherhood, possessing
A potent spell. All women alike
Fight fiercely for a child.

~ Euripides, Iphigenia in Aulis, c. 405 B.C.

Enter your email address to say hello & to receive my crazy ramblings about infertility.

Welcome to the circle of love.

Join 236 other followers

Past scribbles
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 236 other followers

