The Baby Comedown

Infertility can feel like you are running a marathon without knowing how much further you have to run or even if there is a finish line ahead. – The Fertility Garden

This morning I thought I was facing a ‘baby comedown.’ A baby comedown is my term for when an someone facing infertility is exposed to babies too much. When you’ve had to smile til your cheeks hurt and you’ve said the word ‘cute’ more times than Jessica Simpson when she’s shopping. Yep, that’s a lot.

It usually happens after baby showers and christenings.

Fertility Bracelet for PCOS

Fertility Bracelet for PCOS - Garnet, Rose Quartz, Chrysophase, Moonstone beads, Turtle Charm

And in those moments of being strong, you absorb the high of your own strength and the love you emanate so naturally. Suddenly you think, ‘wow maybe I’m good after all.’

Then as you place your head on your pillow at night and breathe deeply, the strength vanishes. You come crashing down like a kamikaze plane.

I felt awful. I looked pretty yesterday morning, this morning even the makeup couldn’t hide how deflated I was feeling.

But then the strong side of me appeared.. through the letter box. I’d bought myself a fertility bracelet from Fertile Garden on Etsy only a week ago. Its purpose is to remind me that my time will come and to keep the faith. As I pulled the ribbon from the box, took the bracelet and secured it onto my wrist the strength slowly returned. ‘I am good’ I told myself and then I could hear the birds singing again.

I opened Pandora's box and infertility entered my life.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Emotions + Coping, Gah!
3 comments on “The Baby Comedown
  1. For me dragonflies relaxed me. I coached Little League when we had our journey. It was like banging your head in a wall.

  2. […] I can’t help it; I love the Jersey cast. Anyway, I saw a post about fertility bracelets on this blog so I decided to check out the one she recommended. (Oops, I just saw that I missed getting free […]

Share those thoughts bouncing around in your head..

Oh, what a power is motherhood, possessing
A potent spell. All women alike
Fight fiercely for a child.

~ Euripides, Iphigenia in Aulis, c. 405 B.C.

Enter your email address to say hello & to receive my crazy ramblings about infertility.

Welcome to the circle of love.

Join 323 other followers

Past scribbles
