#YOLO – giving up work for a chance at motherhood

Some of you might know that over the last few weeks I’ve been torn over whether I should slow down and give my body a chance to recuperate. That included giving up the rat race (the 9-5) so I could focus on fixing the nursery. When I say nursery, I don’t mean an actual room in a house for a child.. I mean my body. A room for a child in me.

Well, I did it. I handed in my notice at work and it left me feeling sad. My job (and small career) has been my rock. The one thing I felt was mine. Now I walk into uncertainty and I cling to hope. All I know is that I don’t want to waste the months ahead.

I’ve had many conversations with various friends over the last few days about what I should do. I asked my bestfriend whether she’d have given up work to bring her two year into the world for her and husband. Her reply was without a doubt. That almost was enough. Then just before I handed in my notice, I struggled because at work I feel in control and on form. Handing it in was letting go of the reins. I emailed another one of my bestfriend’s and her words put it all into perspective. Here’s what she said (which I think will help others who might find themselves facing my dillema):

It’ll still be a great org when you get back to it, or there will be other great orgs to join. This isn’t the end. Think of it as an unpaid sabbatical. It’s easy to get caught up when you’re there because you’re accountable for your daily tasks. The fact that you often find yourself checked out when not there is key. You’re doing the right thing,dear. Power through and keep the reason why you’re doing this in mind. It’ll help keep you focussed. 

Do you want to be holding a baby in your hands this time next year, or do you want to be shufflingthrough marketing planning papers? 😛

As said bestie would say.. and in the words of Drake.. YOLO. You only live once.

                                                                                                                                              This year, those are the words I choose to live by.

x

P.s I’ve totally broken the no posting after 8pm rule. Oops.

I opened Pandora's box and infertility entered my life.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Emotions + Coping, Work Life Balance
8 comments on “#YOLO – giving up work for a chance at motherhood
  1. First off, I love that you are living by the words of Drake. 🙂 But second, CONGRATS! Good for you. If you don’t take care of you, no one will. Looking forward to healthy, happy, centered and stress-free posts in the future. Good luck! xx

  2. Good for you! I quit my job after my third miscarriage to work on this full time. I hope you find it rewarding and with major benefits to your nursery.

    • Thanks for the luck, Lisa. ❤ You know it's so reassuring to know that others have made the same move. I'm not very good at visualising but the video you posted the other day has helped. If I get to see my son/daughter giggling in the back of my car a few years down the line, it'll be worth it all. 🙂

  3. marwil says:

    I honestly don’t know if I could have function at work during this time. Sure as a distraction but still, good that you are able to take some time off and focus on what’s most important right now.

    • Thank you for the support, marwil. I’m so glad for the little sisterhood I have gained on here and you’re one of those people. I think you’ll all be keeping me sane and on track in the months to come. P.s I forgot to sign up to NaBloPoMo … a day behind oops.

  4. […] work hard for the things we treasure the most.  This post is inspired by Fertility Doll’s recent YOLO decision and for all you mothers-to-be and mothers-who-are who are making it happen.  I love you.  Much […]

Share those thoughts bouncing around in your head..

Oh, what a power is motherhood, possessing
A potent spell. All women alike
Fight fiercely for a child.

~ Euripides, Iphigenia in Aulis, c. 405 B.C.

Enter your email address to say hello & to receive my crazy ramblings about infertility.

Welcome to the circle of love.

Join 324 other followers

Past scribbles
