Oh mum.

Overheard my mum telling the molbi (holy man) to pray for me because I’m barren.

His reply ‘Oh she doesn’t have children?’ Awkward.

Just died inside.

I opened Pandora's box and infertility entered my life.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Religion + Spiritual
14 comments on “Oh mum.
  1. Oh dear. Best intentions and all that.

  2. marwil says:

    Oh mum!! yeah, when they think they are looking after you.. but doesn’t realize the meaning of it.

  3. LisaB says:

    Oh my! It’s rough when people are well-meaning, but…. ya know. Hugs!

  4. She does mean well and I love her. It’s just not one of those things you want aired to people, is it? Holy or not.

    Plus the whole this person’s prayers might be heard before yours because they pray more and are therefore considered closer to God is complete crap in my opinion. :-/

  5. Oh my, oh my, oh my. Just catching up on blogs and reading this one. Personally I think “barren” should be banished from the dictionary. And second, ah those best intentions, usually best kept to the intender . . . .

    • I just read your post ‘Barren Woman.’ “I have God’s answer. He has already told me no 33 times. Not once, not twice, not even 10. 33. I am nothing but a fool for holding on all this time.” – really resonated with me. That’s how I feel and yet I crazily still hope. Maybe I’m scared of losing hope because with that I’ll face loss of faith in God.. and that would just leave me bitter.

  6. Pink says:

    Nobody’s prayers can be more sincere than the ones you make for yourself so i hate this daft thinking of a ‘holy’ person’s prayers being more effective! I fear i’m goung to be up all night catching up on your blog…!

Share those thoughts bouncing around in your head..

Oh, what a power is motherhood, possessing
A potent spell. All women alike
Fight fiercely for a child.

~ Euripides, Iphigenia in Aulis, c. 405 B.C.

Enter your email address to say hello & to receive my crazy ramblings about infertility.

Welcome to the circle of love.

Join 324 other followers

Past scribbles
