Cervical Cancer Awareness Week 10th – 16th June

I think those of us struggling with fertility are used to our most sacred part being poked and prodded. However, I know for years I struggled with smear tests. I’d tense up and make it impossible for the doctor to do. The nurse somehow managed to make me feel at ease enough. Until my first experience of abnormal bleeding and receiving abnormal results from a smear test, I didn’t realise how important it is to be screened. After another spell of abnormal bleeding, I was screened yesterday .. on a Monday morning when it was pouring outside. Even the nurse said that she was impressed that I’d made it in. The peace of mind will be worth it.

Cervical cancer facts

Cervical Cancer - Awareness Week

Jo's Cervical Cancer Trust - Awareness Week

To find out more about the test itself read: http://www.jostrust.org.uk/links/Downloads-to-download/Factsheet_Cervical_Screening.pdf

What you can do

Nobody can look after you, like you can – so I’m encouraging all women to prioritise themselves and take 15minutes out of their day to be seen if they haven’t already.

Please help raise awareness by blogging about Cervical Cancer Week (take the pics from my blog) or reblogging this. Jo’s Cervical Cancer Trust also have a Facebook App to help raise awareness amongst friends.

I opened Pandora's box and infertility entered my life.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Dr Trips + Medical
One comment on “Cervical Cancer Awareness Week 10th – 16th June

Share those thoughts bouncing around in your head..

Oh, what a power is motherhood, possessing
A potent spell. All women alike
Fight fiercely for a child.

~ Euripides, Iphigenia in Aulis, c. 405 B.C.

Enter your email address to say hello & to receive my crazy ramblings about infertility.

Welcome to the circle of love.

Join 324 other followers

Past scribbles
