Is that a stork?

Over the weekend we did the 5k Race for Life (one thing off my summer list). The day started with thunder and it was raining but it was touching to see how many women still turned up to participate. Especially women pushing buggies and taking their babies along. The messages people wore for their loved ones left me all emotional but most of all I felt for my friend who was doing it in memory of her mum. I didn’t know what was worse, losing your parent to cancer or losing your child to cancer. I saw messages for both.

It didn’t help that it was just past ovulation and my uterus was saying all sorts. At the end we must have walked at another 3k because I was adamant I wanted Wagamamas. At that point my reproductive organs were screaming. See what I mean about being sensitive this month? It’s insane.

On the track we passed a bunch of ducks, swans and for the first time in my life I saw baby swans! Then I spotted what I thought were storks and shouted out (like the crazy infertile that I am) ..

Hey! Bring me my babies! 

Only.. they were herons. Oops.

Herons in the park

I opened Pandora's box and infertility entered my life.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Fertility + Exercise
One comment on “Is that a stork?
  1. LisaB says:

    Way to go with the 5K (or 8K)! I cannot imagine losing my mom or a child 😦 So sad. It’s really neat to see the survivors and supporters for such a worthy cause. That’s awesome you participated! Oh, and lol at the birds! 🙂 Made me smile.

Share those thoughts bouncing around in your head..

Oh, what a power is motherhood, possessing
A potent spell. All women alike
Fight fiercely for a child.

~ Euripides, Iphigenia in Aulis, c. 405 B.C.

Enter your email address to say hello & to receive my crazy ramblings about infertility.

Welcome to the circle of love.

Join 324 other followers

Past scribbles
