Healing in Istanbul.

My mind has been in a state of chaos. In August I distracted myself by doing things that make me happy. Things such as eating a crazy amount of cake, staying up late, drinking tea, being a social butterfly and cooking. I stopped charting, peeing on sticks and I took a break from sex. Yeah, I totally rebelled and eased up on the wheatgrass too. Trying to conceive and failing at it had to stop. It was killing my soul.

I know there’s a whole journey ahead of me which contains medication and being poked but right now I’m not ready for it. I don’t have the fight in me. Plus it makes me question at what point does it stop and what does a future without a child mean for our marriage? Am I where I want to be? Where do I want to be?

I grew up thinking I’d have a house and 2.4 children. I married thinking I’d have a house and 2.4 children. Instead I have a flat and 2.4 cats. It’s made me question what I want from my marriage and what I want for myself. Attempting to figure that out has left me feeling distant and to be perfectly honest I feel like a 40 year old going through a mid-life crisis.

The dream of a family has kept our paths aligned. Will we still manage to grow in the same direction with it just being us? I feel stagnant. I need growth… movement. I need the next chapter to begin.

Today Mr.Husband admitted that all the traveling and things we do to distract ourselves will never fill the void. I don’t know how to lessen the sadness and not see it as a lost dream. What I do know is that I can’t put my life on hold. I need to give my body a chance to heal, which it seems to be doing nicely and then I’ve got to slowly find my feet again.

Somewhere in my marriage, whilst trying to survive, I lost my faith in God and I lost myself. I need to find both again… before a child enters our lives.

So here I am in Istanbul, feeding street cats, searching for God like Rumi and swimming with dolphins to heal my heart and my marriage.

20120905-225453.jpg

I opened Pandora's box and infertility entered my life.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Emotions + Coping, Religion + Spiritual
4 comments on “Healing in Istanbul.
  1. Keep looking, keep looking.

  2. marwil says:

    Istanbul sounds lovely, I’m glad you take the time to heal, it’s tricky to figure out the balance of it all. I hope you find it and what works for yourself.

    • This journey seems to be like the “Peruvian plains” – easy and level walking doesn’t exist. The terrain is uphill and then you get blessed with a descent only to meet another uphill. I hope I find a balance too. I’ve been blessed with so much. I shouldn’t forget that.

      I’m finally connecting to my blog again so expect me scribbling on your blog later today.

Share those thoughts bouncing around in your head..

Oh, what a power is motherhood, possessing
A potent spell. All women alike
Fight fiercely for a child.

~ Euripides, Iphigenia in Aulis, c. 405 B.C.

Enter your email address to say hello & to receive my crazy ramblings about infertility.

Welcome to the circle of love.

Join 324 other followers

Past scribbles
