Why does ovulation find the need to play hide and seek with me??

Last week was intense emotionally and that brought on a whole lot of *coughs* moments of an intimate kind. Having looked at my Duo Fertility charts, I could predict that when my cycle was behaving, I’d ovulate around day 12 or 13. The monitor flagged fertile days around the same period this month. I thought we’d nailed it… (getting naughty on the right days..) and nailed it out of love not via the need to procreate.

I thought wrong. I plugged in my monitor today to check the temperature, I wanted it to confirm that progesterone had kicked in and that I had indeed ovulated. Instead it flagged a dip and not a small dip either. A BIG MOFO dip that never shows on my charts. I’m guessing this is an ovulation dip, it matches what you see on those perfect ovulation charts and apparently a significant dip is rare. Now if I wasn’t ill, I’d be all, ‘Hurrah! Let me go get into my favourite lingerie and wait for my lover by the door’ but my lady bits are a no go zone.  My body wants a blanket and a hot water bottle, not sex.

I’m looking up at the universe and doing this right now..

Image

 

Update: Might not even be an ovulation dip, could just be from me being all germy… reply from the folks at Duo Fertility:

Duo Fertility on Ovulation Dip

Laughing like a mad woman and banging my head. Also, going to adopt Mr.Husband’s approach and see this as a reawakening. Time for a dose of f*** it therapy! (Yes, it really does exist.. as seen in Grazia)

I opened Pandora's box and infertility entered my life.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Duo Fertility, Infertility, PCOS
3 comments on “Why does ovulation find the need to play hide and seek with me??
  1. LisaB says:

    DARN IT!! I’m glad you guys had some fun sexy time though! It’s hard to say what some of these dips and rises mean, especially with other circumstances like illness. I’ve seen temps go up AND down from illness. If you guys don’t BD again right now, maybe there will still be a good amount of swimmers in the area 🙂 You could always still catch the eggie. Or maybe try to BD in a couple days when you feel better?

    • Seriously. I’m making this face right now -> 😐 at ovulation.

      I can’t face more sex or checking my chart now. Last night I was feeling better, so I was like c’mon let’s just do it. I’m now regretting it as cystitis has hit me big time. Wahhhhhhh.

      Looked at my temp chart this morning, still no sign of ovulation. Scowled and decided I really am going to have to go with the ‘f*** it’ approach. I love my body, I’m going to prioritise it over my mental obsession with conceiving hehe x

      • LisaB says:

        Sorry about your cystitis! 😦 UGH!!!
        That sounds good – taking care of yourself is always the best thing (although I usually end up obsessing LOL). I am still keeping my fingers crossed for you xo

Share those thoughts bouncing around in your head..

Oh, what a power is motherhood, possessing
A potent spell. All women alike
Fight fiercely for a child.

~ Euripides, Iphigenia in Aulis, c. 405 B.C.

Enter your email address to say hello & to receive my crazy ramblings about infertility.

Welcome to the circle of love.

Join 324 other followers

Past scribbles
