Restless nights & the moon

There are nights when I look at the moon and talk to God. Especially when it’s a full moon and it’s hard to ignore the beautiful sphere illuminating the night sky.

When my grandma faced secondary infertility, she would bathe under a full moon in the corn fields, in belief that it would purify her body and give her a child. She later gave birth to two boys, fifteen years after the birth of my mother. A different lifetime and the same moon now watches me and listens to my conversations with God.

I wonder how many cycles we’ll go through together.

I wonder how many women the moon has witnessed crying before it.

I wonder how many prayers and secrets it contains.

I wonder how many times it has rejoiced when it has lit up the face of a small angel asleep in his or her bed.

These are the things I wonder during my restless nights.

I opened Pandora's box and infertility entered my life.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Infertility, Religion + Spiritual
One comment on “Restless nights & the moon
  1. LisaB says:

    Beautiful post xxxx That is a really cool story about your grandma, but so sorry she had to go through that. Thinking of you ❤

Share those thoughts bouncing around in your head..

Oh, what a power is motherhood, possessing
A potent spell. All women alike
Fight fiercely for a child.

~ Euripides, Iphigenia in Aulis, c. 405 B.C.

Enter your email address to say hello & to receive my crazy ramblings about infertility.

Welcome to the circle of love.

Join 323 other followers

Past scribbles
