#itwillhappen: starting the day off with a skip in my step

I hate mornings. Mornings are especially hard when you feel like you’ve lost the will to live thanks to infertility. I’m usually tired and could do with another two sweet hours snuggled up under my duvet.

Snuggling is no longer an option. I have a train to catch, a boss to please and a job to keep. So I needed steps to give me the best possible emotional start to the day.

1. Getting out of bed & ditching the 5 minutes more

I usually spend 20 minutes doing the ‘just 5 mins more thing’, willing for 5 minutes of shut eye to give me the same boost a deep sleep does. It doesn’t.

If anything the extra time makes me 1) lethargic 2) late for work

Today when my eyes opened I skipped the ‘5 minutes more’ and forced myself out of bed. At first I did indeed grumble but after breakfast I felt energised and ready for the day.

2. Implementing some thought control

My thought process is typically like this when I’m tired..

“I’m soooo tired. Argh! This is not what life is about. How am I supposed to bring life into this world when I’m so exhausted?” Just poor me.

When I stepped back from it, I thought “No wonder my days have been so crap if I’m starting them off with those thoughts.”

So today I started with “It’s going to be a good day.”

And it was 🙂

3. Dressing nice because I’m worth it

Who knew spending 10 minutes on my beauty routine could make me feel better inside and out. I even got offered a seat on a packed train!

So, if you’re struggling in the morning – give it a go!

 

I opened Pandora's box and infertility entered my life.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Infertility
2 comments on “#itwillhappen: starting the day off with a skip in my step
  1. elaaisa says:

    Totally agree! I also go through phases when I am lazy in the morning and then the day seems to start on a negative note. Keep it up! 🙂

  2. Kristin says:

    Positive thinking will make you feel better no matter what. And there is certainly nothing wrong with feeling good. 😀

Share those thoughts bouncing around in your head..

Oh, what a power is motherhood, possessing
A potent spell. All women alike
Fight fiercely for a child.

~ Euripides, Iphigenia in Aulis, c. 405 B.C.

Enter your email address to say hello & to receive my crazy ramblings about infertility.

Welcome to the circle of love.

Join 324 other followers

Past scribbles
