Thank you, Angelina Jolie.

Yesterday I read Angelina Jolie’s article about her double mastectomy. I heart Angelina Jolie for her compassion and all the work she does. I heart her ‘brood’ as the media call it. Last night I pondered about how Angelina adopted before she had own children. It made me wonder why I want to exhaust all options to have our own child before I’d consider the adoption route.

I also reflected on what a friend had once said, that she’d rather adopt than have her own because she thinks there are enough children in this world already who need love. I struggled with that.

The more I have reflected, the more it has opened my heart. I’m at the stage where I just need to pour love and nurture. Whether that child comes from my womb or not. 

At the end of the piece, Angelina writes

Life comes with many challenges. The ones that should not scare us are the ones we can take on and take control of.

We can’t control infertility – we can do our best to take charge but we can’t guarantee that life will grow in us BUT we can choose whether we become mothers or not. 

This is what Angelina taught me and I doubt she’ll ever know.

 

I opened Pandora's box and infertility entered my life.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Share those thoughts bouncing around in your head..

Oh, what a power is motherhood, possessing
A potent spell. All women alike
Fight fiercely for a child.

~ Euripides, Iphigenia in Aulis, c. 405 B.C.

Enter your email address to say hello & to receive my crazy ramblings about infertility.

Welcome to the circle of love.

Join 324 other followers

Past scribbles
