Facing IVF.

Dear Blog,

DON’T DIE ON ME! I’M SORRY I NEGLECTED YOU.

I want to write more but I’m in a perplexing state of indifference and I’m wondering if this is normal. At some point in the near future, I’ll be joining the IVF ladies. I don’t feel prepared but I’m not entirely sure what prepared is – what you have to do to be prepared. I just thought at this point I would be trying to control this more but instead I feel like I don’t have any control over it. I’m being positive about what it could bring but I don’t want to be naively positive. Maybe I’m scared of being crazily positive? Which is silly because I ought to take a spoonful of my own medicine and heed my own words ‘Whether you are positive or not during the cycle, the fall from when you get a BFN always hurts the same.’

Maybe it won’t hit me until I’m on the drugs and juggling work. Anyhow, just wanted to explain my silence. The problem with not being caught up in a storm is that the drama queen in me doesn’t have anything to write about.

I’m sorry if this hits your SEO. I’ll try to bring some drama in or maybe you’ll get a sprinkling of Disney happiness instead.

M x

 

I opened Pandora's box and infertility entered my life.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in IVF
13 comments on “Facing IVF.
  1. E v e l y n says:

    I believe the only way to truly prepare for IVF is to fail the first one. Then you know exactly what to expect. Based on personal experience, that’s a really crappy way to prepare.

    I was fairly unprepared going into it and this ended up being okay. By all accounts I was a great patient, even though I didn’t get pregnant. Ask the nurses lots of questions and they’ll explain everything to you.

    Turns out I’m glad I didn’t hear the stories that some women go crazy on fertility drugs before my first treatment. I figure I might have gone crazy if I’d heard that, but I didn’t go crazy, which leads me to believe some women go crazy on fertility drugs because they’ve heard the stories.

    The only thing that I can honestly say ‘I wish I would have known that beforehand’ was that I needed a transvaginal ultrasound on my first monitoring appointment. I’m still stunned I didn’t figure this out before the appointment. I must have assumed it would be an external ultrasound since I was on my period. Oh the shock when they told me to take my clothes off from the waist down.

    • I didn’t know about the CD1 scan!! As if the usual date with dildocam wasn’t mortifying enough.

      I think there’s some truth in what you said about only being prepared once you’ve been through it once. It’s a sad thought but I guess it makes you stronger. I’m trying to manage my expectations and keep grounded because so many things could go wrong. It’s hard to find a balance with hope and being pragmatic.

      Thanks for sharing your experiences on it. I do really feel like a newb to the process.

  2. steph50 says:

    Wishing you all the best! Xox

  3. Β. 'Ατακτη says:

    Wishing you all the best, I just learned recently I have a ‘heart shape’ uterus so I’m waiting for my next Gyno appointment. Hugs!

  4. kiftsgate says:

    It’s hard to prepare for IVF. Even now that I know what expects me evertime I start I feel unprepared. I alsonhad a show at my first monitoring, especially since the guy doing the scan was weird and in a rush. My first IVF was meant to be a IUI, so you can imagine how little prepared I was. I knew nothing about it.
    I think Evelyn’s advice is great: ask questions. Ask questions on the anesthesia, on the drugs, the expected effects on your mood, etc. As much as you may have read blogs with descriptions of symptoms and feelings, it’s different to hear things from professionals.
    Best of luck my dear!!

    • Thanks for the luck ❤ Weird and in a rush when he is prodding something up you? That sounds awful. I'll try to ask questions, I just end up doing that thing of going brain dead when I'm faced with things – instead of asking the right questions. Thank you again for the advice.

  5. katherinea12 says:

    I’m not sure there’s really any way to prepare…some days I think I’m 100% ready to go forward, others I just want to hide and never go through with the IVF. Good luck with the IVF! Fingers crossed.

  6. So hard to prepare. I know I was overly optimistic and really EXPECTED it would work. But then, you have to go that route, don’t you. At any rate, I hope that for you the first time IS the charm. Good luck! And also: You’ve been nominated for a sunshine award! http://wannareadtotwo.wordpress.com/2013/10/12/sunshine-award/ Have a great weekend!

Share those thoughts bouncing around in your head..

Oh, what a power is motherhood, possessing
A potent spell. All women alike
Fight fiercely for a child.

~ Euripides, Iphigenia in Aulis, c. 405 B.C.

Enter your email address to say hello & to receive my crazy ramblings about infertility.

Welcome to the circle of love.

Join 324 other followers

Past scribbles
