IVF #2: Egg collection nerves, blessings and traffic

Dressed in Sweaty Betty yoga pants, a loose T and a pair of Converse I’m telling myself that I’m all zen and ready for egg collection. Deep down I’m nervous of facing a replay of the last time. I’m dreading the outcome and the rest of the week. I should be happy I made it to this point.

Brace yourself I’m about to share a little bit too much.. I’m also dealing with pessary stress! 20mins after putting it in I had to poo and now I’m worried I’ve just poo’d it all out. That’s going to be a fun concern to raise with my doctor this morning. Why can’t this just be simple??

On a positive note I’m cruising barely moving through London in a cab after pulling the princess card and refusing to deal with the tube strike today. I can be a brat sometimes. I’ll take driving down Bishop’s Lane dreaming as I gaze at all the houses that don’t look as if they belong in London, than have my face squished against someone’s armpit.

Last night I felt sprinkled with blessings – because of the messages from you girls here and my friends, the spontaneous call from my mum (she’s abroad & we’re not in touch much) and the kindness my 18 year old niece showed when at 11pm she heated up pizza for me after I told her about today. I don’t think I count my blessing enough.

Bad things happen – no matter how much we prepare. All we can do is hold onto the little good things in our worlds to keep us afloat.

20140430-093430.jpg

I opened Pandora's box and infertility entered my life.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Assisted Fertility, Dr Trips + Medical, Emotions + Coping, Infertility, IVF
22 comments on “IVF #2: Egg collection nerves, blessings and traffic
  1. barrenbetty says:

    Pretty picture! I have a feeling that I asked the same thing at my last clinic and they told me the majority of it is absorbed pretty quickly. I wish I could remember… I kind of want to say most is absorbed in the first 10-20 minutes. Are you doing progesterone injections as well? Your body will be producing it’s own progesterone too so I wouldn’t worry about it too much. I’ve already said it to you once today, but I’ll say it again for good measure… GOOD LUCK CHICK! xxxxxxx

    • I think the injections start tonight. I think the pessary is a pain killer. I’m going to stuff all the luck in my gown and hospital hair net.

      That’s the back of Super Man’s head in the picture.

      Woohoo Ace of Base on the radio. ‘All that she wants is another baby..’ .. I’ll take one thanks!

  2. Thinking of you and your husband today! You deserve the princess card. Were you on the Bishops Lane/Ave near Hampstead? I have very clear memories of staring out at those colossal houses on trips to visit my grandparents in north London :-). xxx

    • That’s the one! Those houses are just what dreams are made of. Especially the older ones that look a little run down. I think you have to be royalty to afford those. Thanks so much for well wishes. Hope everything’s going ok for you. When is your scan? x

  3. damelapin says:

    That(s a nice picture, thank you for it! Fingers crossed for the egg retrieval! xxx

  4. NotSoNewtoIVF says:

    wishing you so so much luck for today…you were totally right to pull the princess card, tube strike london is hideous! By rights you should have been allowed to ride there on a unicorn! Let us know how it goes xxx

  5. kiftsgate says:

    Thinking of you and Super Man! We need more heroes in this world so I hope this IVF will give us a wee Super baby. Cab ride on a day with difficult transport is the minimum! Well done playing the princess card! Best of luck!!! xx

  6. redbluebird says:

    Thinking of you and hoping for great things today! xo

  7. katherinea12 says:

    Thinking of you and fingers crossed!

  8. May the odds be ever in your favour. XOXO

  9. marwil says:

    I hope everything went well today! and that there will be nothing but good news from here on. Best of luck, it’s a tough ride. xx

  10. Lisette says:

    I’m late to the party but I love this post. You deserved to get a cab today 100%. Fucking nightmare getting around otherwise. Hugs xx

  11. andifvmakes3 says:

    Meanwhile in South London…

    I’ll be making that same trip in about a week’s time. Hope the egg retrieval wasn’t as scary or painful an experience as I think its going to be. Or is it…?

    • I found IVF #1 painful after but I had 12 eggs then. I was sedated so I didn’t feel anything for the actual procedure. This time I was sore last night but felt fine this morning.

      Transfer was more painful for me the last time :/ Wishing you so much luck!!

Share those thoughts bouncing around in your head..

Oh, what a power is motherhood, possessing
A potent spell. All women alike
Fight fiercely for a child.

~ Euripides, Iphigenia in Aulis, c. 405 B.C.

Enter your email address to say hello & to receive my crazy ramblings about infertility.

Welcome to the circle of love.

Join 324 other followers

Past scribbles
